The Post-It Note Project

Post-It Note Project

Bullying is an issue in schools everywhere. I have been wanting to do something about it, even if it was a small gesture. Recently, I joined and donated to the International Bullying Prevention Association. Their goal is to teach kids how to stand up to bullies.  Over the holidays this year, I asked my friend, Ashley Sobczak, to help me with a project I had in mind. I told her, “You know how some people are scared to come to school because they are afraid how people will judge them, or pick on them? Well, I was wondering if you would help me with a project. I want to take post-it notes, and put one on every locker with a positive quote, so that when they arrive in the morning, their greeted with a warm feeling.” She agreed, and we got to work. We bought 800 post-it notes, and wrote an inspiring comment on each, such as,  “You’re worth it”, “Don’t give up”, “Stand up to the people you fear”,“Take Risks”,“You are beautiful inside and out”, etc.  That morning, I was on the edge of my seat! People were so excited to see it! The school was filled with students smiling everywhere!  Students and Teachers were coming up to thank me for what I had done; some kids I didn’t even know! I felt like my friend and I fulfilled an amazing deed, and I will never forget it. ~ Sam Bremmer

What do you think?

